Availability: In Stock

The Short Stories of Anton Chekhov, Volume 1 Audiobook

Author: Anton Chekhov
SKU: 2075141576613


by Anton Chekhov

  • Narrated by: Charlton Griffin
  • Length: 3 hrs and 57 mins
  • Release date: 01-28-05
  • Language: English


Anton Pavlovich Chekhov, (1860-1904), was born in Russia at Taganrog on the Sea of Azov. His name has become synonymous with a certain literary style much admired and widely copied since his death. Typically, a Chekhov story is a “mood”, a state of mind, usually with regard to relations between one person and another. Under the influence of the constant, infinitesimal, and unforeseen pinpricks of life, there occurs a gradual transformation of that state of mind. His writing is at once fluid and precise. Most of his stories end on a minor note, instead of the dramatic flourish. Today, Chekhov is regarded as Russia’s greatest writer, and his narrative works continue to attract an ever wider circle of readers worldwide.

This volume includes the following unabridged works with music and sound effects:

  • The Kiss
  • The Two Volodyas
  • The Lady with the Dog
  • Fear
  • The Darling
  • Chameleon
  • Oysters

Finally, “An Essay On The Life of Chekhov”, by Dimitri Mirsky, takes us on a tour of Chekhov’s life and career. This critically acclaimed work of scholarship is clearly and concisely written to bring into perspective the life of one of Russia’s greatest literary figures.

Additional information





3 hrs and 57 mins

Narrated by

Charlton Griffin

Release date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Short Stories of Anton Chekhov, Volume 1 Audiobook”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *